Gelebte Stricksucht


Desperately seeking distraction
Thursday, July 30th, 2009, 10:44
Filed under: Uncategorized

“I’m not knitting.”
Isn’t that such a terrible thing to state? And yet… Well… It’s true: I’m not knitting. I ran out of Mohair Fine on Monday, because I only packed one ball of it. I never ever – not even in my wildest dreams! – thought that I’d use it all up while I’m at my parents’, mostly because I thought the pattern for the Gossamer Garden Stole quite challenging to follow and I couldn’t imagine myself sticking to that project and, well, actually falling in love with it.
So, what am I to do? I could knit Mom’s cardigan, for sure, but I fear we’ll soon run into a sizing problem. I had finished that cardigan about two years ago and after two or three months, Mom asked me if I could re-knit it, since its fit was too loose. I didn’t object, frogged the whole thing and started over, this time according to the measurements of one of her favourite sweaters. This was about half a year ago. She has been losing weight constantly since then and I seriously doubt that the cardigan will fit her this time. And I don’t want to finish something first, then have to frog it again.
Plus: I really, REALLY should be studying. I have my book and my notes lying right here on my desk, next to my keyboard, but I can’t bring myself to study for more than an hour – even though there isn’t much that I could do instead.
I’d rather think about how I’m going to spend today’s afternoon. Anna and I talked about a trip to the city last evening, apparently there’s a sale at a yarn store (which made my eyes go all wide and watery), plus she told me about another yarn store where you can get KSH for 7€ a ball (which made me almost cry for joy). So we decided to take the trip, get a cup of coffee somewhere and drop by these yarn stores. And then there’s another thing that comes to mind: Wolle Rödel, the LYS chain where I bought the Mohair Fine, has a store in the city, too… Maybe I should pay them a visit and look for a ball of Mohair Fine. I’ll need another one anyway…

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

