Gelebte Stricksucht


Lost in Austen
Saturday, July 28th, 2012, 10:10
Filed under: Uncategorized

My desk is nearly breaking down from the weight of papers on Light Source Measurement, Global Illumination and the like, as well as notes on everything concerning Visual Effects and Simulation Algorithms. Sounds like Chinese? Yeah, well, the latter two (Visual Effects and Simulation Algorithms) are the titles of the two lectures I’m currently trying to stuff into my brain.

Having a knitting project accompany my studying has always worked for me, so even though it is summer I decided to start a new Yes-I-know-I-should-be-studying knitting project. Temperatures dropped like 10°C over night anyway, and this breezy 20 something degrees Celsius outside seem like perfect knitting weather anyway.
A German TV station with a strong focus on programs of cultural interest (they even call themselves “der Kultursender” which roughly translates to “the culture channel”) has recently featured many films and specials on Jane Austen. Not only the almost legendary and gorgeous BBC version of “Pride and Prejudice” but also the fun and witty “Lost in Austen” adaption. So practically, I have no other choice but deciding on a project from my copy of “Jane Austen Knits”. Which, in this case, is the Pemberley Slippers. So I’m going to lift my heavy yarn boxes down from my dresser to go look fo some sport weight yarn. Light Source Measurement is getting old anyway. Oh, and overrated, too.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

